David Gemmell Chronological Order

Whilst a lot of people sit back and read David’s books in the order they were published others like to enjoy them as they appear in the various worlds chronologically.

Whilst some of the placement may be a little controversial, these were arranged after talking to David after the arrangement of the Drenai Timeline. As such this has been taken into account where possible although some titles that would fit in haven’t been added as they couldn’t be nailed down sufficiently.

Hopefully you’ll enjoy the books in a semblence that suits your own style but if you want to read them in the various worlds timelines here’s how it all breaks down for you:

Drenai Saga:
Knights of Dark Renown (1989)
Morningstar (1992)
Waylander (1986)
Waylander 2: In the Realm of the Wolf (1992)
Waylander 3: Hero in the Shadows (2000)
The First Chronicles of Druss the Legend (1993)
The Legend of Deathwalker (1996)
White Wolf (2003)
Legend (1984)
King Beyond the Gate (1985)
Quest for Lost Heroes (1990)
Winter Warriors (1997)
The Swords of Night and Day (2004)

Sipstrassi Tales:
Lion of Macedon (1990)
Dark Prince (1991)
Ghost King (1988)
Last Sword of Power (1988)
Wolf in Shadow (1987)
The Last Guardian (1989)
Bloodstone (1994)

Hawk Queen Duology:
Ironhand’s Daughter (1995)
The Hawk Eternal (1995)

Rigante Quartet:
Sword in the Storm (1998)
Midnight Falcon (1999)
Ravenheart (2001)
Stormrider (2002)

Troy Trilogy:
Troy: Lord of the Silver Bow (2005)
Troy: Shield of Thunder (2006)
Troy: Fall of Kings (2007) (posthumously finished by his wife, Stella)

Individual Titles:
White Knight Black Swan (1993) (pseudonym of Ross Harding)
Dark Moon (1996)
Echoes of the Great Song (1997)

Leave a Reply