Legend Award 2018

Legend Award

The Legend Award, named after David Gemmell’s first and most popular novel, is presented to the fantasy title judged the year’s best by open vote.

The trophy, pictured here, is a scale model of Snaga, the axe wielded by Gemmell’s iconic hero Druss, and is created specially each year by Simon Fearnhamm of Raven Armoury.

Voting on 2018’s Legend longlist opens at midday (GMT) on Friday 16th February and closes at midnight (GMT) on Friday 30th March.

Voting on the shortlist opens at midday (GMT) on Friday 20th April and closes at midnight (GMT) on Friday 1st June.

The presentation ceremony takes place on the evening of Saturday 14th July at Edge-Lit 7, Derby, UK. https://www.derbyquad.co.uk/events/edge-lit-7.aspx


Stephen Aryan – Mageborn, Book One of The Age of Dread (Orbit)

R. Scott Bakker – The Unholy Consult, The Aspect Emperor Book Four (Orbit)

Elizabeth Bear – The Stone in the Skull, Book 1 of the Lotus Kingdoms (Tor)

Bradley Beaulieu – Blood Upon The Sand, Book Two of The Song Of The Shattered Sands (Gollancz)

Robert Jackson Bennett – City of Miracles, Book 3 of the Divine Cities (Jo Fletcher Books)

Peter V Brett – The Core, Book 5 of The Demon Cycle (Harper Voyager)

Kristen Britain – Firebrand, Green Rider Book 6 (Gollancz)

Terry Brooks – The Black Elfstone, Book 1 of the Fall of Shannara (Orbit)

Miles Cameron – The Fall of Dragons, Traitor Son Cycle Book Five (Gollancz)

Trudi Canavan – Successor’s Promise, Millennium’s Rule Book Three (Orbit)

Daniel A Cohen – Coldmaker (Harper Voyager)

David Dalglish – Shadowborn, Seraphim Book Three (Orbit)

Tony Daniel – The Amber Arrow, Book 2 of Wulf’s Saga (Baen)

Aliette de Bodard – The House of Binding Thorns, Dominion of The Fallen Book 2 (Gollancz)

Sebastien de Castell – Tyrant’s Throne, Book 4 of The Greatcoats (Jo Fletcher Books)

NS Dolkart – Among the Fallen, Book 2 of the Godserfs Series (Angry Robot Books)

Stephen Donaldson – Seventh Decimate, The Great God’s War Book 1 (Gollancz)

Terry Goodkind – Death’s Mistress, Book 1 of The Nicci Chronicles (Head of Zeus)

David Hair – Empress of the Fall, Book 1 of The Sunsurge Quintet (Jo Fletcher Books)

Kevin Hearne – A Plague of Giants, Book 1 of The Seven Kennings (Orbit)

Robin Hobb – Assassin’s Fate, Book 3 of Fitz and The Fool (Harper Voyager)

P.C. Hodgell – The Gates of Tagmeth, Book 5 of the Kencyrath Series (Baen)

Jon Hollins – The Dragon Lords: False Idols, Book 2 of The Dragon Lords (Orbit)

Lucy Hounsom – Heartland, Book 2 of the Worldmaker Trilogy (Pan McMillan)

Lucy Hounsom – Firestorm, Book 3 of the Worldmaker Trilogy (Pan MacMillan)

Christopher Husberg – Dark Immolation, Book Two of the Chaos Queen Quintet (Titan)

Ian Irvine – The Fatal Gate, Book Two of The Gates of Good and Evil (Orbit)

James Islington – An Echo of Things to Come, Book Two of the Licanius Trilogy (Orbit)

John Hornor Jacobs – Infernal Machines, The Incorruptibles Book 3 (Gollancz)

NK Jemisin – The Stone Sky, Book 3 of The Broken Earth (Orbit)

Brian Keene and Steven L Shrewsbury – Throne of the Bastards, The sequel to King of the Bastards (Apex Book Company)

Jay Kristoff – Godsgrave, The Nevernight Chronicle Book 2 (Harper Voyager)

Mark Lawrence – Red Sister, Book 1 of The Book of the Ancestor (Harper Voyager)

Tom Lloyd – Princess of Blood, Book Two of The God Fragments (Gollancz)

Alex Marshall – A War in Crimson Embers, Book Three of the Crimson Empire (Orbit)

Gail Z. Martin – Scourge, A Darkhurst Novel (Solaris)

Elizabeth May – The Fallen Kingdom, Book Three of The Falconer (Gollancz)

Brian McClellan – Sins of Empire, Book 1 of Gods of Blood and Powder (Orbit)

Steve McHugh – Scorched Shadows, The Hellequin Chronicles Book 7 (47North)

James A Moore – The Last Sacrifice, Book 1 of The Tides of War (Angry Robot Books)

Peter Newman – The Seven, Book 3 of The Vagrant Trilogy (Harper Voyager)

Scott Oden – A Gathering of Ravens (Bantam Press)

K.J. Parker – The Two of Swords, Volume One of The Two of Swords (Orbit)

David Price – Lightbringers, The Age of Myth and Legends (Crossroads Press)

Josh Reynolds – Eight Lamentations: Spear of Shadows, Warhammer: Age of Sigmar (Black Library)

Anthony Ryan – Legion of Flame, The Draconis Memoria Book Two (Orbit)

Brandon Sanderson – Oathbringer, The Stormlight Archive Book 3 (Gollancz)

Andrzej Sapkowski – The Lady of the Lake, The Witcher Saga Book 5 (Gollancz)

Jon Skovron – Bane and Shadow, The Empire of Storms Book Two (Orbit)

Brian Staveley – Skullsworn (Pan Macmillan)

Sam Sykes – God’s Last Breath, Bring Down Heaven Book 3 (Gollancz)

Laini Taylor – Strange the Dreamer, Strange the Dreamer Book 1 (Hodder)

Adrian Tchaikovsky – The Bear and The Serpent, Book 2 of Echoes of the Fall (Pan MacMillan)

Angus Watson – You Die When You Die, West of West Book One (Orbit)

CL Werner – Overlords of the Iron Dragon, Warhammer: Age of Sigmar (Black Library)

Jen Williams – The Ninth Rain, Book One of The Winnowing Flame Trilogy (Headline)

Tad Williams – The Witchwood Crown, Book One of The Last King of Osten Ard (Hodder)

Janny Wurts – Destiny’s Conflict, Book Ten of the Wars of Light and Shadow (Harper Voyager)

Comments are closed.