Morningstar Award 2018

The Morningstar Award

The Morningstar Award, taking its name from one of David Gemmell’s bestselling novels, honours the author judged, by open vote, to have made the year’s best debut in fantasy fiction.

The Morningstar trophy is specially made by artist Lee Blair, who also created our Ravenheart trophy.

Voting on 2018’s Morningstar longlist opens at midday (GMT) on Friday 16th February and closes at midnight (GMT) on Friday 30th March.

Voting on the shortlist opens at midday (GMT) on Friday 20th April and closes at midnight (GMT) on Friday 1st June.

The presentation ceremony takes place on the evening of Saturday 14th July at Edge-Lit 7, Derby, UK.


RJ Barker – Age of Assassins, Book 1 of The Wounded Kingdom (Orbit)

Callie Bates – The Waking Land (Hodder)

D.J. Butler – Witchy Eye (Baen)

Andrew Caldecott – Rotherweird (Jo Fletcher Books)

Melissa Caruso – The Tethered Mage, Book 1 of The Swords and Fire Trilogy (Orbit)

Kristen Ciccarelli – The Last Namsara, Iskari Book One (Gollancz)

Nicholas Eames – Kings of the Wyld, Book 1 of The Band (Orbit)

C.F. Iggulden – Darien: Empire of Salt, Book 1 of The Empire of Salt (Michael Joseph)

Rudi Jennings – The Last Myon (Olympia Publishers)

Ausma Zehanat Khan – The Bloodprint, Book 1 of The Khorasan Archives (Harper Voyager)

Anthony Laken – One Cog Turning (Luna Press Publishing)

Fonda Lee – Jade City, Book 1 of The Green Bone Saga (Orbit)

Dale Lucas – The Fifth Ward: First Watch, Book 1 of The Fifth Ward (Orbit)

David Mealing – Soul of the World, Book 1 of The Ascension Cycle (Orbit)

Ed McDonald – Blackwing, Book 1 of The Raven’s Mark (Gollancz)

Jeannette Ng – Under the Pendulum Sun (Angry Robot Books)

Chris Sharp – Cold Counsel (

Anna Smith-Spark – The Court of Broken Knives, Book 1 of The Empires of Dust (Harper Voyager)

Anna Stephens – Godblind, Book 1 of The Godblind Trilogy (Harper Voyager)

Deborah A. Wolf – The Dragon’s Legacy, Book 1 of The Dragon’s Legacy Saga (Titan Books)

Comments are closed.