Ravenheart Award 2018

Ravenheart Award

The Ravenheart Award, named for one of David Gemmell’s novels, is given to the artist/s responsible for the year’s best fantasy book cover art, as chosen by open vote.

The trophy, pictured here, is created annually by Lee Blair, and was first presented at our 2014 ceremony.

Voting on 2018’s Ravenheart longlist opens at midday (GMT) on Friday 16th February and closes at midnight (GMT) on Friday 30th March.

Voting on the shortlist opens at midday (GMT) on Friday 20th April and closes at midnight (GMT) on Friday 1st June.

The presentation ceremony takes place on the evening of Saturday 14th July at Edge-Lit 7, Derby, UK. https://www.derbyquad.co.uk/events/edge-lit-7.aspx


Richard Anderson for The Stone in The Skull by Elizabeth Bear (Tor Books)

Richard Anderson for Kings of the Wyld by Nicholas Eames (Orbit)

Arcangel Images (Crystal Ben) for The Tethered Mage by Melissa Caruso (Gollancz)

Arcangel Images for The Stone Sky by NK Jemisin (Orbit)

Arcangel Images for The Soul of the World by David Mealing (Orbit)

Arcangel Images for God’s Last Breath by Sam Sykes (Gollancz)

Arcangel and Shutterstock for Mageborn by Stephen Aryan (Orbit)

Tommy Arnold for Shadowborn by David Dalglish (Orbit)

Kerem Beyit for The Fall of Dragons by Miles Cameron (Gollancz)

Christian Bravery for The Legion of Flame by Anthony Ryan (Orbit)

Laura Brett for Blood Upon the Sand by Bradley Beaulieu (Gollancz)

Mike Bryan for The Black Elfstone by Terry Brooks (Orbit)

www.buerosued.de for Tyrant’s Throne by Sebastien De Castell (Jo Fletcher Books)

Alejandro Colucci for The Last Sacrifice by James A Moore (Angry Robot Books)

Alejandro Colucci for The Lady of the Lake by Andrzej Sapkowski (Gollancz)

John Coulthart for Under the Pendulum Sun by Jeannette Ng (Angry Robot Books)

Gill Heeley and Larry Rostant for Darien: Empire of Salt by C.F. Iggulden (Michael Joseph)

Das Illustrat, Ervin Usman and Dan Smith for The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli (Gollancz)

Bastien Lecouffe Deharme for Bane and Shadow by Jon Skovron (Orbit)

Adam Doyle for The Witch of Torinia by Clifford Beal (Solaris)

Terrence Drysdale (Trevillion Images) and Joana Kruse for The Waking Land by Callie Bates (Hodder)

Getty Images and Shutterstock for Jade City by Fonda Lee (Orbit)

Sam Green for Oathbringer by Brandon Sanderson (Gollancz)

Johan Grenier for Overlords of the Iron Dragon by C.L. Werner (Black Library)

Jaime Jones for The Seven by Peter Newman (Harper Voyager)

Rory Kee for City of Miracles by Robert Jackson Bennett (Jo Fletcher Books)

Rory Kee for Empress of the Fall by David Hair (Jo Fletcher Books)

Patrick Knowles for Infernal Machines by John Hornor Jacobs (Gollancz)

Jon McCoy for Princess of Blood by Tom Lloyd (Gollancz)

Gene Mollica for A Plague of Giants by Kevin Hearne (Orbit)

Gene Mollica for The Fallen Kingdom by Elizabeth May (Gollancz)

Jackie Morris and Stephen Raw for Assassin’s Fate by Robin Hobb (Harper Voyager)

Stephen Mulcahey for Coldmaker by Daniel A Cohen (Harper Voyager)

Nekro for Seventh Decimate by Stephen Donaldson (Gollancz)

Leo Nickolls for Rotherweird by Andrew Caldecott (Jo Fletcher Books)

Dave Palumbo for Cold Counsel by Chris Sharp (Tor.com)

Lauren Panepinto for A War in Crimson Embers by Alex Marshall (Orbit)

the-parish.com (Tom Sanderson) for Age of Assassins by RJ Barker (Orbit)

plainpicture (Dieter Reichelt) for Red Sister by Mark Lawrence (Harper Voyager)

Kerby Rosanes for Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff (Harper Voyager)

Larry Rostant for You Die When You Die by Angus Watson (Orbit)

Larry Rostant and Millennium FX Ltd for The Core by Peter V Brett (Harper Voyager)

Daniel Dos Santos for Witchy Eye by DJ Butler (Baen)

Daniel Dos Santos for The Amber Arrow by Tony Daniel (Baen)

Dominick Saponaro for An Echo of Things to Come by James Islington (Orbit)

April Schumacher for Firebrand by Kristen Britain (Gollancz)

Shutterstock (Kiselev Andrey Valerevich) for The Unholy Consult by R. Scott Bakker (Orbit)

Shutterstock for The House of Binding Thorns by Aliette de Bodard (Gollancz)

Shutterstock for Death’s Mistress by Terry Goodkind (Head of Zeus)

Shutterstock for Firestorm by Lucy Hounsom (Pan MacMillan)

Shutterstock for Heartland by Lucy Hounsom (Pan MacMillan)

Shutterstock for The Fatal Gate by Ian Irvine (Orbit)

Shutterstock for The Bloodprint by Ausma Zehanat Khan (Harper Voyager)

Shutterstock for The Court of Broken Knives by Anna Smith-Spark (Harper Voyager)

Shutterstock for Skullsworn by Brian Staveley (Pan MacMillan)

Shutterstock for Godblind by Anna Stephens (Harper Voyager)

Shutterstock for The Bear and the Serpent by Adrian Tchaikovsky (Pan MacMillan)

Shutterstock and depositphotos for Blackwing by Ed McDonald (Gollancz)

Duncan Spilling and Shutterstock for Successor’s Promise by Trudi Canavan (Orbit)

Crystal Sully for The Dragon Lords: False Idols by Jon Hollins (Orbit)

Thom Tenery for Sins of Empire by Brian McClellan (Orbit)

Trevillion Images for The Two of Swords: Volume One by K.J. Parker (Orbit)

Michael Whelan for The Witchwood Crown by Tad Williams (Hodder)

Eric Williams for The Gates of Tagmeth by P.C. Hodgell (Baen)

Janny Wurts for Destiny’s Conflict by Janny Wurts (Harper Voyager)

Sammy Yuen for The Fifth Ward: First Watch by Dale Lucas (Orbit)

Jantine Zandbergen for Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor (Hodder)

Comments are closed.