Legend Award – 2017

legendawardsnagaLegend Award

The Legend Award, named after David Gemmell’s first and most popular novel, is presented to the fantasy title judged the year’s best by open vote.

The trophy, pictured here, is a scale model of Snaga, the axe wielded by Gemmell’s iconic hero Druss, and is created specially each year by Simon Fearnhamm of Raven Armoury.

Voting on 2017’s Legend longlist opens at midday on Friday 17th February and closes at midnight on Friday 31th March.

Voting on the shortlist opens at midday on Friday 21st April and closes at midnight on Friday 2nd June.

The presentation takes place on the evening of Saturday 15th July at Edge-Lit 6, Derby UK.  http://www.derbyquad.co.uk/film/edge-lit-6.aspx


Daniel Abraham – The Spider’s War (Orbit)

Tim Akers – The Pagan Night (Titan)

Stephen Aryan – Blood Mage (Orbit)

R. Scott Bakker – The Great Ordeal (Orbit)

Clifford Beal – The Guns of Ivrea (Solaris)

Robert Jackson Bennett – City of Blades (Jo Fletcher Books)

Terry Brooks – The Sorcerer’s Daughter: The Defenders of Shannara (Orbit)

Miles Cameron – A Plague of Swords (Gollancz)

Joel Cornah – The Sky Slayer (Kristell Ink Publishing)

Edward Cox – The Watcher of Dead Time (Gollancz)

David Dalglish – Fireborn (Orbit)

Sebastien De Castell – Saint’s Blood (Jo Fletcher Books)

Ian Graham – The Path of The Hawk (Orbit)

John Gwynne – Wrath (Tor)

Joanne Hall – The Summer Goddess (Kristell Ink Publishing)

Jon Hollins – The Dragon Lords: Fool’s Gold (Orbit)

Stephen Hunt – The Stealers’ War (Gollancz)

Ian Irvine – The Summon Stone (Orbit)

Guy Gavriel Kay – Children of Earth and Sky (Hodder and Stoughton)

Jay Kristoff – Nevernight (Harper Voyager)

NK Jemisin – The Obelisk Gate (Orbit)

KV Johansen – Gods of Nabban (Pyr)

Anna Kashina – Assassin Queen (Angry Robot)

Glenda Larke – The Fall of The Dagger (Orbit)

Mark Lawrence – The Wheel of Osheim (Harper Voyager)

Tom Lloyd – Stranger of Tempest (Gollancz)

Sonia Orin Lyris – The Seer (Baen)

Helen Lowe – Daughter of Blood (Orbit)

Alex Marshall – A Blade of Black Steel (Orbit)

Gail Z. Martin – Shadow and Flame (Orbit)

Foz Meadows – An Accident of Stars (Angry Robot)

James A. Moore – The Silent Army (Angry Robot)

Brian G. Murray – Forgotten Hero (Burning Willow Press)

Peter Newman – The Malice (Harper Voyager)

Megan E. O’Keefe – Break The Chains (Angry Robot)

J. D. Oswald – The Obsidian Throne (Penguin)

Den Patrick – The Girl on the Liar’s Throne (Gollancz)

Ben Peek – Leviathan’s Blood (Pan)

Daniel Polansky – Those Below (Hodder and Stoughton)

Steven Poore – The High King’s Vengeance (Kristell Ink Publishing)

Andy Remic – Twilight of the Dragons (Angry Robot)

Anthony Ryan – The Waking Fire (Orbit)

Jeff Salyards – Chains of the Heretic (Night Shade Books)

Brandon Sanderson – Calamity (Gollancz)

Brandon Sanderson – The Bands of Mourning (Gollancz)

Andrezj Sapkowski – The Tower of the Swallow (Gollancz)

Luke Scull – Dead Man’s Steel (Head of Zeus)

AJ Smith – The World Raven (Head of Zeus)

Ryk E. Spoor – Phoenix Ascendant (Baen)

Brian Staveley – The Last Mortal Bond (Tor)

Michael J. Sullivan – Age of Myth (Del Rey)

Steph Swainston – Fair Rebel (Gollancz)

Sam Sykes – The Mortal Tally (Gollancz)

Adrian Tchaikovsky – The Tiger and The Wolf (Pan)

Gav Thorpe – Warbeast (Black Library)

Marc Turner – Dragon Hunters (Titan)

Marc Turner – Red Tide (Titan)

Brent Weeks – The Blood Mirror (Orbit)

Jen Williams – The Silver Tide (Headline)


Comments are closed.